On behalf of the AHECS partners, AAF, AARNet, AusCERT, CAUDIT, and REANNZ, we are pleased to invite you to the 2023 Australasian Higher Education Cybersecurity Service (AHECS) Cybersecurity Summit.

Following the success of our first face to face summit in 2022, we are delighted to welcome you back to Canberra in 2023.

The AHECS Cybersecurity Summit has a distinctive focus on the cybersecurity needs of the Australian higher education and research sector; this unique forum is a result of the ‘by the sector, for the sector’ AHECS partnership. The AHECS Cybersecurity Summit is an exclusive opportunity for you to connect with cybersecurity peers across the sector. The insights and learnings gained from the presentations, panels, and discussions at the Summit offer immense value to participating organisations.

The AHECS Cybersecurity Summit will be held at the Hotel Realm in Canberra from 31 October - 02 November 2023.

Nikki Peever
Chair, AHECS Cybersecurity Summit
Director, Cybersecurity, CAUDIT

Confirmed speakers include

Marnie Hughes-Warrington, AO

Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Research and Enterprise, University of South Australia

Brian Hay APM

Executive Director, Cultural Cyber Security Pty Ltd

James Kay

Acting Assistant Director-General - Incident Management Branch

Australian Cyber Security Centre

Dennis Desmond

Lecturer, Cyber Security, School of Science, Technology and Engineering, University of the Sunshine Coast 

Peter Coroneos

Founder, Cybermindz

Edward Messina

Assistant CISO, Monash University

Kylie Watson

Cyber Sociologist 

Corien Vermaak

Director, Regional Sales, Cisco

Asif Gill

Global Leader in Adaptive Enterprise & Information Architecture

Nadia Taggart

Western Sydney University

Dan Maslin

Group CISO,
Monash University 

& Associate Professor, Deakin University

Nicole Moore

Senior Information Security Strategy & Governance Lead, Flinders University

Dave O'Loan

Head of Cyber Relations, AARNet

Umair Zia

Head of IT Assurance & Cyber Security, University of Otago

David Cottingham

CEO & Co-founder, Airlock Digital

We thank our 2023 Working Group for their support and assistance

  • Dan Maslin, Group Information Security Officer, Monash University
  • Andrew Morgan, Chief Information Security Officer, LaTrobe University
  • Nikki Peever, Director, Cybersecurity Program, CAUDIT
  • Joanne Sam, Security Governance Manager, AARNet
  • Dushyant Sattiraju, Manager, Cyber Security Operations, Deakin University
  • Jakob Sellmann, Cybersecurity Officer, CAUDIT
  • Nadia Taggart, Western Sydney University

With thanks